Marco Andretti
Fan Alerts

Email Type:  




Onto Edmonton: Momentum for Andretti Autosport

07.20.11 – Momentum is on the side of Andretti Autosport as the four-car contingent heads to the new 2.25-mile, 13-turn road circuit at the City Centre City near downtown Edmonton this weekend for the 10th stop in the 17-race IZOD IndyCar Series.

The Edmonton Indy will serve as Andretti Autosport’s next target to the top of the victory podium after Marco Andretti’s win at Iowa and Ryan Hunter-Reay’s strong third place finish in the streets of Toronto in the past two IZOD IndyCar Series events. Andretti, at the controls of the No. 26 Team Dr Pepper Honda/Dallara/Firestone entry, also made a sensational drive from 20th to fourth at Toronto and currently ranks seventh in the 2011 standings, just five points out of the top-five.

Hunter-Reay, the most experienced of the Andretti Autosport drivers at Edmonton, placed fifth in last year’s Edmonton Indy and has another top-ten finish to his credit at the Canadian airport track. Hunter-Reay figures to be a leading contender Sunday with his No. 28 Team DHL/Circle K/Sun Drop Citrus Soda Honda/Dallara/Firestone machine.

Long Beach winner Mike Conway returns to Edmonton in 2011 after missing last year’s event due to his Indy 500 injuries, but the personable Brit has been strong on the street circuits for Andretti Autosport in the No. 27 Team @FollowAndretti Honda/Dallara/Firestone car.

Popular Danica Patrick looks to improve her top-ten series point standing at Edmonton with the No. 7 Team Honda/Dallara/Firestone entry on the all-new Edmonton course. Patrick has finished every IZOD IndyCar Series race in the last 43 starts, dating back to 2009 at Long Beach. Danica has the longest consecutive finishing record in IZOD IndyCar Series history.

The 100-lap Edmonton Indy will start Sunday at 12:45 p.m. (MDT) and will be telecast live on the VERSUS network beginning at 2 p.m. (EDT).

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Firestone Tires Firestone Tires
Andretti Autosports 4 Time IndyCar Champions