Marco Andretti
Fan Alerts

Email Type:  




IndyCar champion Ryan Hunter-Reay in fast company

5.20.13 (via – If there's a favorite for Sunday's Indianapolis 500, odds are it's a member of Andretti Autosport.

Andretti drivers have won three of the first four races in the Izod IndyCar Series this year, and all five drivers qualified in the top nine for Sunday's race.

Andretti also sports the reigning IndyCar champion — Ryan Hunter-Reay, who will start seventh in the 97th running of "The Greatest Spectacle in Racing."

Alongside pole winner Ed Carpenter, the front row will feature two Andretti drivers — rookie Carlos Munoz (second) and Marco Andretti (third). Teammates E.J. Viso will start fourth and James Hinchcliffe ninth.

"When you have a fast race car, things are so much more enjoyable. You're just happy," Hunter-Reay told USA TODAY Sports on Monday. "To get all our guys in the Fast Nine is a huge testament to our team."

The 32-year-old Hunter-Reay, the first American to win an IndyCar Series championship since Sam Hornish Jr. in 2006 and the first U.S.-born driver to win a unified open-wheel series since Al Unser Jr. in 1994, doesn't hesitate when asked whether winning the Indy 500 is a bigger deal than winning the series title.


Read more…


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Firestone Tires Firestone Tires
Andretti Autosports 4 Time IndyCar Champions