Ryan Hunter-Reay
Fan Alerts

Email Type:  




Ryan Hunter-Reay Wins Third Quarter Driver of the Year Award

9.25.2012 (Via Barry Schmoyer) – IndyCar champion Ryan Hunter-Reay convincingly beat NASCAR’s Brad Keselowski in the voting for the Third Quarter DRIVER OF THE YEAR.

The elite panel of 21 broadcasters and journalists gave ten first-place votes to Hunter-Reay, who totaled 138-points, while Keselowski had six first-place votes and totaled 105-points.

In the third quarter, the Texas-born Hunter-Reay, who drives for Andretti Autosport  had wins at Toronto and Baltimore but didn’t overcome first-quarter Driver of the Year,  Will Power, until the championship boiled down to the IndyCar finale at Auto Club Speedway. 

"I'm honored to have been voted DRIVER OF THE YEAR for the third quarter. With every driver that races on four wheels in America being eligible, it's humbling to know that the media voted for me,” Hunter-Reay said after being informed of the balloting.

Barry Schmoyer, President of the DRIVER OF THE YEAR Foundation, commented “while the voting is open to all drivers racing in the US  there’s a certain pride that an American has won the IndyCar title for the first time since Sam Hornish accomplished it in 2006. 

Erica Enders, the NHRA’s Pro Stock driver, was third in the points and garnered two first-place votes and 55 points. Antron Brown, who races in the NHRA’s Top Fuel division, was fourth with 39 points.  

Denny Hamlin was the only other driver to receive a first place vote was fifth with 34 points. Nineteen first-place votes were cast.

A total of 18 drivers scored points in the third quarter voting. 

In its’ 46th year, the DRIVER OF THE YEAR title is unique. The panel of 21 leading journalists and broadcasters from across the U.S. determines the winner.  Three panelists did not vote this time. In quarterly voting, points are awarded on a declining 9, 6, 4,3,2,1 basis. Hunter-Reay will receive a trophy and a Tissot wristwatch to be presented at a time and place to be determined.

“I have to thank my crew and everyone at DHL, Sun Drop and Chevy for all their support – this year just gets better and better,” Hunter-Reay added.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Firestone Tires Firestone Tires
Andretti Autosports 4 Time IndyCar Champions