Carlos Munoz
Fan Alerts

Email Type:  




Ryan Hunter-Reay Wins IZOD IndyCar Series Championship, Finishes 4th in MAVTV 500

Ryan Hunter-Reay 
Andretti Autosport

Team DHL/Sun Drop Citrus Soda Chevrolet 

No. 28

Ryan Hunter-Reay is the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series champion. Hunter-Reay grabbed four victories this season, and finished fourth Saturday evening in the MAVTV 500 at Auto Club Speedway to win the title over Will Power. Hunter-Reay is the first American-born driver to capture the IZOD IndyCar Championship since 2006 (Sam Hornish, Jr).

Hunter-Reay entered today's 500-mile race 17 points behind Power, who crashed early in the race and finished 24th.  

This is Hunter-Reay's first career championship , as he extends his distinction of being the most successful active American driver in the IndyCar Series.

The 31-year old Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. resident recorded four IZOD IndyCar Series victories this season: Baltimore (2012/Andretti Autosport), Toronto (2012/Andretti Autosport), Iowa (2012/Andretti Autosport), Milwaukee (2012/Andretti Autosport), New Hampshire (2011/Andretti Autosport), Long Beach (2010/Andretti Autosport) and Watkins Glen (2008/Rahal Letterman Racing). He also has victories in the CART/Champ Car Series at Milwaukee and Surfer's Paradise.

Hunter-Reay has now been the top-finishing American driver in the IZOD IndyCar Series points for three seasons in a row. Hunter-Reay is the only driver to score victories in IZOD IndyCar, CART Champ Car, Grand-Am and the American Le Mans series.

This is fourth series title ('04/Kanaan, '05/Wheldon, '07/Franchitti and '12/Hunter-Reay) for Andretti Autosport. The team also boasts two Indianapolis 500 wins ('05/Wheldon and '07/Franchitti).

Andretti Autosport has three full-time entries in the IZOD IndyCar Series, with Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti (Team Dr Pepper TEN Chevy) and James Hinchcliffe (Team Go Chevrolet). The trio was joined at the Auto Club Speedway by teammate Sebastian Saavedra in the Team AFS Chevrolet. Saavedra ran in three IndyCar events this season. Andretti Autosport is the only team with entries in each of the Mazda Road to Indy ladder series categories.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Firestone Tires Firestone Tires
Andretti Autosports 4 Time IndyCar Champions