Carlos Munoz
Fan Alerts

Email Type:  




Karam scores Star Mazda Trois-Rivieres Sunday win

8.6.2012 (Via RACER) – Sunday's Star Mazda Race 2 at the 43rd annual GP3R at Trois-Rivieres looked for all the world like another Jack Hawksworth runaway, before rain altered the complexion of the race at the midway point. With Hawksworth making a rare mistake, the beneficiary was Sage Karam in the No. 88 Andretti Autosport / Comfort Revolution Mazda.  

Hawksworth, the championship points leader and winner of yesterday's Race 1 from the pole, was leading after the entire field pitted under a red flag on Lap 24 to change to wet tires. However, he came under attack from Karam on the restart, then overestimated the amount of grip available and slid under braking into the tire barriers in Turn 6 with three minutes to go. He limped his nose-less and suspension-bent No. 82 Team Pelfrey / TORGOEN Swiss Watches / EXA Networks Mazda around for the rest of the lap to finish 12th.

Karam's win is his first in the series outside of an oval, and closes the gap in the championship to 41 points back of Hawksworth (286-245). Gabby Chaves, who finished second, is third with 238 ahead of Juncos Racing teammates Connor De Phillippi and Martin Scuncio on 212 and 202, respectively.

"This is my first-ever Star Mazda win on anything but an oval, and I'm very excited to have it happen here on this very technical track, in the rain and in front of all the great Trois-Rivieres fans," said Karam. "When the first couple of drops hit my visor I was hoping for it to actually rain hard enough that they would force us to come in and change tires.  I knew that was my best hope of catching Jack, who had a big lead in the dry.  As soon as the green came out for the final wet laps Jack and I had a great battle for a few laps and then he slid off into the tires. After that for me is was just a question of not making a mistake."

Click here to read more. 

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Firestone Tires Firestone Tires
Andretti Autosports 4 Time IndyCar Champions